Obama: No President Has ‘Taken More Terrorists Off the Field Than Me’

President Obama Addresses The Nation On Terrorism And San Bernardino Attacks
By Melanie Hunter | April 11, 2016 | 11:37 AM EDT

(CNSNews.com) – In an interview with “Fox News Sunday,” President Barack Obama defended his response to terrorist attacks, saying, no one has “taken more terrorists off the field” than he has in his two terms in the White House.

“I would say this — there isn’t a president who’s taken more terrorists off the field than me, over the last seven-and-a-half years. I’m the guy who calls the families, or meets with them, or hugs them, or tries to comfort a mom, or a dad, or a husband, or a kid, after a terrorist attack. So, let’s be very clear about how much I prioritize this. This is my number one job,” Obama said.

Fox News host Chris Wallace asked the president about an interview he gave to Atlantic Magazine.

“I want to ask you about an interview, an extensive interview you did with the Atlantic Magazine recently.  It says that you think that the fear of terrorism among politicians, among the press, among the public, is exaggerated,” said Wallace.

“And then the article goes on to say, quote, ‘Obama frequently reminds his staff that terrorism takes far fewer lives in America than handguns, car accidents, and falls in bathtubs do,’ Wallace added. “Do we make too big a deal of the terror threat?”

“I don’t think we make too big of a deal of the terror threat.  My number one job is to protect the American people. My number one priority right now is defeating ISIL. My number one priority throughout my presidency has been going after terrorist networks that would attempt to do harm to Americans inside, or outside of America,” Obama said.

“My point is that, how we do it is important, that we have to make sure that we abide by our laws. We have to make sure that we abide by our values, and we have to make sure that what we do doesn’t end up being counterproductive, so when I hear some candidates saying we should carpet bomb innocent civilians that is not a productive approach to defeating terrorism,” Obama said, referring to GOP presidential candidate Sen. Ted Cruz’s (R-Texas) remarks.

“When I hear people suggesting that we should ban all Muslims from entering the country, that is not a good approach to defeating terrorism,” he said, referring to GOP presidential candidate Donald Trump’s comments. “Our approach has to be smart.”

“After James Foley was beheaded, you went out and played golf.  After Paris, you said it was a setback, and some people wonder, I think the concern is, do you worry about terrorism and feel the threat of terrorism the way they do?” Wallace asked.

“And I would say this — there isn’t a president who’s taken more terrorists off the field than me, over the last seven-and-a-half years. I’m the guy who calls the families, or meets with them, or hugs them, or tries to comfort a mom, or a dad, or a husband, or a kid, after a terrorist attack. So, let’s be very clear about how much I prioritize this. This is my number one job, and we have been doing it effectively,” Obama said.

Leave a Reply

